City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The following is a list of Citywide government news stories. Please use the drop-down menus to filter by category or department.

San Luis Obispo City Council Sworn In

Post Date:12/04/2018

The San Luis Obispo City Council was sworn in Monday, December 3. Mayor Heidi Harmon was reelected for a second term, Council Member Carlyn Christianson will serve a fourth term, and Erica Stewart will begin her first term on the council. Council Members Andy Pease and Aaron Gomez are mid-term and will continue serving.  

The City Council meets the first and third Tuesday of each month. The five-member City Council consist of the directly-elected Mayor and four City Council Members. The Mayor is elected to a two-year term and Council Members are elected to four-year terms. 

The City Council is the legislative authority and sets the policies under which the City operates. The City Council has the power to adopt ordinances and resolutions, make appointments to the City's advisory bodies, establish policies and approve programs, appropriate funds, adopt budgets, and approve contracts. The Mayor presides at all meetings of the City Council and is recognized as the official head of the City for all ceremonial purposes.

You can stay up to date with City news and meeting notices by signing up for e-notifications here.

Return to full list >>